Icon, Honorary and Life Members

Icon, Honorary and Life Members


  • Wendy Eckett

  • Wendy joined Indooroopilly in December 1979.  She played and caddied for pennants for many years and spent a total of 10 years on the Women’s Committee during which time she served as Captain from 1994-95 and President from 2007-08.

    She was involved with Junior Girls golf for twenty years from the mid 1990’s. Head teaching professional Ian Triggs and his staff conducted weekly clinics for junior girls, after which Wendy and golfing legend Joan Fletcher accompanied the girls for a five-hole competition at the end of the men’s field.  Many girls went on to represent Indooroopilly, firstly in the Junior Girls Interclub competition in 1998 and later in Junior Girls Pennants.

    Felicity Seeto instigated a Monday morning 9-hole competition for women on 40+ handicaps in 1999.  Wendy enjoyed being there to send the players off and answer golf related questions afterwards.  The Monday Women’s Club today still boasts many who met in the 40+ competition.

    In 2008 Wendy established a database of Club archives and a Club Heritage section on the IGC website to record its rich history.

    Wendy was awarded Life Membership in 2021.

    Laurie Muller

  • Laurie joined the Club in December 1984.

    Laurie served his country as a National Service Platoon Commander in the Australian Regular Army from 1965-68 (Vietnam War) and his passion and respect for all veterans continued.  Laurie was also a major fundraiser for “4 Aussie Heroes” and played an integral part of the ANZAC celebrations each year at Indooroopilly.

    He was Vice President from 1999-2000, Chair of Membership Committee in 2001, and elected as President of the Club from 2001-02.

    Laurie was a member of Leaders’ Focus Group in 2004 and gave his time freely to act as scrutineer for a number of AGM’s.  He put in considerable time and energy as the Probity Auditor in the process of selecting the course architects in 2019.  His time and experience in publishing also proved of great assistance to Wendy Eckett in the Heritage project.

    Laurie was awarded Life Membership in 2021.

    Geoff Parker

  • Geoff joined the Club in July 1975 and served the Club with distinction over a number of years.  A former Pennant player, he became Manager of the Senior Pennant team. 

    Geoff was the Club’s elected Vice President from 2003-04 and President from 2005-07.

    Professionally Geoff had a distinguished and well-known career in architecture and in 1989 he was co-founder and Managing Director of Cottee Parker until 2016.  Geoff freely gave his professional expertise to the Club and Board over a number of years.

    In addition to serving on the Board Geoff was very active in committee work within the Club and had a major involvement in a number of significant and important projects at the Club.  These projects include Course Design and Water (Red and Gold), rectification of incorrect classification for IGC land from Parkland to Sport and Recreation, and an integral member of the Clubhouse and Surrounds Working Group.

    Geoff was awarded Life Membership in 2021.

    Danny Spencer


  • Danny joined the Club in February 1974 and his golfing career highlights can be found in Champion Golfers – Men.

    In 1980, together with George Gunderson, he developed a junior membership program to give back to the game and encourage young participation.  He represented IGC at the Brisbane District Golf Association for a number of years and in 2000 was awarded the Australian Sports Medal for services to golf.

    Having had a successful career with Ampol from 1967 to 1993, the Spencer family moved to the Sunshine Coast to pursue other business interests until 2001, then returned to Brisbane.  From 2001 Danny held multiple senior roles within the golf operations department reflecting his deep knowledge of the game and the IGC membership.

    In 2004 he became a Club Ambassador to assimilate and welcome new members to IGC.  This is a role he essentially continued long into retirement.

    Danny was awarded Life Membership in 2023


  • Jason Day
    Australian Professional Golfer
    Awarded Icon Membership in 2017
  • Karrie Webb
    Australian Professional Golfer
    Awarded Icon Membership in 2016
  • Allan Border
    Australian Cricket Commentator and Former International Cricketer
    Transferred from Honorary to Icon Membership in 2019
  • Lachlan Gillespie
    Australian Entertainer
    Awarded Icon Membership in 2022
  • Rod Laver AC, MBE
    Australian Former Tennis Player
    Transferred from Honorary to Icon Membership in 2019
  • Wally Lewis
    Australian Former Professional Rugby League Footballer
    Awarded Icon Membership in 2016
  • Gorden Tallis
    Australian Former Professional Rugby League Footballer            
    Awarded Icon Membership in 2016



  • Jane Border – Member since 2014
  • Ellie Day – Member since 2017
  • Ben Ikin – Member since 2015
  • Pamela Langford – Member since 1956
  • Patricia McKinlay – Member since 2002
  • Ian Triggs – Member since 1999